TARA. (June 4, 2011)

Tara in Bike Parking awaiting Day 1

We named my bike today. “Tara,” after the female Buddhist Bodhisattva.

Tārā is known as the Mother of Mercy and Compassion. She is the source, the female aspect of the universe, which gives birth to warmth, compassion and relief from bad karma as experienced by ordinary beings in cyclic existence. (Since I’ll be living a cyclic existence over the next week, I thought this was appropriate).

Tara engenders, nourishes, smiles at the vitality of creation, and has sympathy for all beings as a mother does for her children. She offers succor and protection from all the unfortunate circumstances one can encounter within the samsaric world. And she expresses maternal compassion and offers healing to beings who are hurt or wounded, either physically or psychically.

Tara and I are riding to help end AIDS.

It’s 10pm. Opening ceremonies start in 8 hours. What am I doing awake? Maybe the pasta carbohydrates feed for dinner is pulsing through my veins, keeping me up. Maybe I’m just a little bit excited…

I’ve ridden 1000 miles since April 1 training for the ride. I put new tires on Tara yesterday and cleaned her up a bit. Wrapped her handle bars in bright green tape. Tightened her breaks. A few final adjustments. She’s ready to take me on a 545 mile journey to LA, with 2500 riders and another 500 volunteer roadies. There’s a good chance of rain in the morning.

I am rider number 6058.

I’ve raised over $5,700 for the San Francisco AIDS Foundations, $700 beyond my goal, from more than 90 people. Thank you to everyone who stepped up with a sponsorship.  And thanks to everyone else who has lent moral support.

Sarana gets a big shout out here. She had to pull out of the ride because of a nasty bout of pneumonia that took her down for 3 week and knocked her off her training game. She’s just about back to 100% now, but not in time for the rigor of the ride. She’s the one who inspired my signing up. Will miss riding with you this year my friend.

With Tara,
towards a more compassionate world,
for the end of AIDS
and for all of us in need
of loving kindness.

  1. #1 by Sarana Miller on June 5, 2011 - 3:25 pm

    I am signed up!

  2. #2 by Sarana Miller on June 5, 2011 - 3:28 pm

    Another beautiful post. Thanks for the special shout out!

  3. #3 by Saul Schultheis-Gerry on June 5, 2011 - 6:05 pm

    So proud to call you friend!!! So proud to call you brother!!!!

Leave a comment